Monday, September 06, 2010

"Making History: Support for Israeli Artists Who Say NO to Normalizing Settlements"

[At above link are descriptions of the brilliant work these folks do.]

On August 27th, dozens of Israeli actors, directors, and playwrights made the brave decision not to perform in Ariel, one of the largest of the West Bank settlements, which by all standards of international law are clearly illegal. As American actors, directors, critics and playwrights, we salute our Israeli counterparts for their courageous decision.

Most of us are involved in daily compromises with wrongful acts. When a group of people suddenly have the clarity of mind to see that the next compromise looming up before them is an unbearable one -- and when they somehow find the strength to refuse to cross that line -- we can't help but be overjoyed and inspired and grateful.

It's thrilling to think that these Israeli theatre artists have refused to allow their work to be used to normalize a cruel occupation which they know to be wrong, which violates international law and which is impeding the hope for a just and lasting peace for Israelis an Palestinians alike. They've made a wonderful decision, and they deserve the respect of people everywhere who dream of justice. We stand with them.

*Statement organizers and signatories represent a wide range of political opinions and perspectives, but have come together for the sole purpose of making a joint statement on this one critical issue.

**All identifications and affiliations are for identification purposes only and do not imply endorsements by any institutions

Ed Asner
Theodore Bikel
Eve Ensler
Tony Kushner
Miriam Margolyes
Cynthia Nixon
Mandy Patinkin
Harold Prince
Vanessa Redgrave
James Schamus
Wallace Shawn
Jennifer Tilly
Liz Diamond
Andre Gregory
Lynn Nottage
Sheldon Harnick
Paula Vogel
Bill Irwin
Sarah Schulman
David Adjmi
Najla Said
James Bundy
Kathleen Chalfant
Ruth Reichl
Edward Einhorn
Oskar Eustis
Deborah Eisenberg
Bruce Allardice
Philip Arnoult
Anthony Arnove
Caron Atlas
Arthur Aviles
David Barlow
Laura Barnett
George Bartenieff
Mark Barton
John Bell
Melia Bensussen
Eric Bentley
Theodore S. Berger
Susan Bernfield
Philip Bither
Linda Chapman
Rachel Chavkin
Trudi Cohen
Kia Corthron
Jorge Ignacio CortiƱas
Clare Coss
Alex Courtney
Tim Cusack
Savitri D.
Matthew Dellapina
Ivor Dembina
David J. Diamond
Elin Diamond
Sally Eberhardt
John Clinton Eisner
Bertie Ferdman, Ph.D.
Corey Fischer
Elinor Fuchs
Alexandra Gersten-Vassilaros
Adam Greenfield
David Greenspan
Kathryn Grody
Jason Grote
Del Hamilton
Karen Hartman
David Herskovits
Joan Holden
Jeffrey Horowitz
Holly Hughes
Birgit Huppuch
Julia Jarcho
Morgan Jenness
John Jesurun
Jeffrey M. Jones
Melanie Joseph
Chris Kam
Stephen Kaplin
Melissa Kievman
Josh Kornbluth
Aaron Landsman
Paul Lazar
Herbert Leibowitz
Maxinne Rhea Leighton
Robert H. Leonard
Gideon Lester
Roberta Levitow
Irene Lewis
Ethan Lipton
Casey Llewellyn
Quincy Long
John Carroll Lynch
Kirk Lynn
Matthew Maguire
Matthew Maher
Judith Malina
Karen Malpede
Nina Mankin
Emily Mann
Deborah Margolin
Vijay Mathew
Marin Mazzie
Ellen McLaughlin
Erin Mee
Greg Mehrten
David Michalek
Tyler Micoleau
Tim Miller
Jennifer Miller
Steve Moore
Susan Mosakowski
David Moscow
Erika Munk
Tom Nelis
Jim Nicola
Annie-B Parson
Sally Ann Parsons
Shailja Patel
Katie Pearl
Sybille Pearson
Ralph Pena
Carla Peterson
Brian Pickett
Catherine Porter
Gordon Rogoff
Jenny Romaine
Avital Ronell
Ken Rus Schmoll
Brian H. Scott
Regine Anna Seckinger, Ph.D.
Jamil Shamasdin
Peggy Shaw
Christopher Shinn
Jeanmarie Simpson
Michael Singer
Alisa Solomon
Bonnie Stein
Kris Stone
Mark Sussman
Caridad Svich
Bill Talen
Kathleen Tolan
Basil Twist
Charlie Varon
Naomi Wallace
Anne Washburn
Donya K. Washington
Stephen Webber
Brenda Wehle
Mac Wellman
Anabelle Winograd
Eunice Wong
Kristina Wong
Susan Yankowitz
David Zellnik

No comments: